Saucers Over Lincoln


<< back to the Combined Discography

Cover ImageRelease date and tracklist

November 5,  2015

  1. part I: El Baile mortal de la tierra inclemente
  2. part II
  3. part III
  4. part IV


US 2x CD BLRR MT 166 (Saucers Over Lincoln/Vita Nova)

Disc 1

  1. part I: El Baile mortal de la tierra inclemente
  2. part II
  3. part III
  4. part IV

Disc 2

  1. Vita Nova (Version Apocalypse)
  2. D-List


June 13, 2017
US self-released on A Star Too Far’s Bandcamp

  1. vita nova
  2. world war 4
  3. dont use my eyes to see
  4. bahnhow zoo
  5. damn mirage
  6. why lincoln?



  • Randall Frazier: Keyboards, vocals, engineering
  • Edward Ka-Spel: Keyboards, vocals, editing, engineering
  • Erik Drost: guitars
  • The Silverman: Analogue and digital synthesis, devices


The full studio album “Saucers over Lincoln” in a six panel dove white sleeve. “Vita Nova” issued as a one-time edition of 100 numbered copies in a six panel French Black paper sleeve, silver silk screened art, with a version of Vita Nova (Version Apocalypse)” from the full length studio album Saucers Over Lincoln and “D-list”, a 3 minute exclusive audio track playable on a turntable.

“It all happened during a magical week in the month of April 2014. After a thoroughly enjoyable tour the previous Fall when Randall Frazier aka Orbit Service opened for The Legendary Pink Dots in all corners of North America. It felt like such a perfect match that The Dots wanted to repeat the experience in Europe. However, it’s never smart to dive into a van for a tour immediately after stepping off a Transatlantic flight. Consequently Randall stayed with Edward Ka-Spel and family for 3 nights before hitting the road to Newcastle in the UK. That’s when the recordings happened. The red light was locked on a permanent red and the Ka-Spel/Frazier team basically explored a new universe together. Hours of material emerged which were later edited, decorated with vocals by both singers and then sent to Pink Dots’ Erik Drost and The Silverman for further contributions.”


“Featuring a team-up between the Legendary Pink Dots and Randall Frazier of Orbit Service, this project’s debut album is a dream come true for fans of experimental space rock. The otherworldly vibe of the Dots melds with Frazier’s more electronic side, the album’s mood shifting seamlessly from bittersweet wistfulness (album opener “1” sees distinctive Dots frontman Edward Ka-Spel delivering lyrics of longing over fuzzed out piano chord ambiance) to post-industrial tension (“3” with its looped static and blasts of shrapnel poetry and scrap metal reverb) and back again, often in the same track (the star-spanning loneliness of “2” eventually gives way to crunchy bass loops and nervous sirens as the space between the stars becomes more oppressive). Fans of both projects’ long careers will find lots to appreciate on this saucer-shaped journey through the terminal kaleidoscope, but there are hints of new postmodern elements, as well. Classic synth drones fall prey to intentional glitches and back-masking, and bits of tinny drum ‘n’ bass-inspired rhythm flicker underneath softly shimmering analog drones. Ka-Spel’s vocals are as distinctive as ever, but it’s the instrumentation and sound design that stars. Ka-Spel is a wonderful storyteller, but here he steps back just far enough to let you envision your own journey to this soundtrack of analog pulses and echoing loops. A star too far, perhaps, but you’ll never forget the things you’ll see on the trip out, even if you never find your way back home…” Matthew Johnson


Share this!
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter