Dub Plates Volume Two


<< back to the Combined Discography

Cover ImageRelease date and tracklist

15 September 1999
NL CD M Records CD 180
NL LP M Records LP 180
NL MP3 on Bandcamp 

  1. Bord Plate
  2. New Rockers
  3. Shaka Version
  4. Trinity
  5. Dance Plate
  6. Binshaker Dub Plate
  7. Iguana
  8. Kik Plate
  9. Killer Version
  10. Filter 13 (Ultra Dub)


  • Ryan Moore


Since that night in 1967 when selector Ruddy Redwood spun a vocal-less acetate in a Kingston dance hall and the midnight ravers demanded “Rewind!” dub scientists have been perfecting the art of 21st-century soul tonic;) But while King Tubby’s progeny – from hip-hop to house, dance hall to drum’n’bass – have gone forth to mutate pop’s subconscious, mother [sic]

If only innovators like Wimbish could shake the cultural prejudice that insists. Tubby, Perry and Hudson must tower over ’90s sound-boys. Enter Ryan Moore, the Legendary Pink Dots escapee behind Twilight Circus, who wrestles with history’s titans and leaves the ring commanding ’nuff respect. In his kaleidoscope world a feather weighs a ton, colors cut corners, and time eats itself. Dub Plates Volume Two- a vinyl-only collection of rare acetates that doubles as a greatest-versions set – should be a landmark in post hip-hop sonic engineering. “Filter 13 (Ultra Dub)” is as explosive as Krust, as sophisticated as Philip “Fatis” Burrell, and as riveting as DJ Premier. “Dance Plate”, a tribute to Black Uhuru’s 1981 depth probe “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner”, splits the riddim and boggles your ear cavity. Follow the bass or follow the drum; Mama’s calling you home.

Jeff Chang, SPIN


Share this!
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter